Men’s swimming wins MIAC title, first in 56 years

St. Thomas finished with 709 points as Gustavus tallied 701 in one of the closest finishes in conference history as the Tommies won its first MIAC title since 1954 Saturday at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

The Tommies’ big win made it the first time since 1979 that St. Olaf or Gustavus hadn’t won the MIAC men’s swimming title.

Peter Mullee won the 50 free and 100 and 200 back as he brought home the Men’s Outstanding Performer Award. Coach Tom Hodgson was Coach of the Year for a fourth year in a row and received his fifth award in four years. Hodgson was the men’s and women’s co-coach of the year in 2007-08.

Women take third

Becca Ney was named the Women’s Outstanding Performer Award as the Tommie women took home third place for the second year in a row.

Brian Woitte can be reached at

One Reply to “Men’s swimming wins MIAC title, first in 56 years”

  1. I think it should be noted that Tom has actually been a coach of the year for the past 4 years now.
    06-07 Womens
    07-08 Mens and Womens Co-coach
    08-09 Mens
    09-10 Mens
    Congrats to the Family on an incredible achievement. Four years ago there was no way we could have imagined being at this point.

Comments are closed.