16 seniors nominated for Tommie Award, profiles of the candidates

Sixteen St. Thomas seniors are nominated for the 2012 Tommie Award.

“The 2012 nominees are great representatives of the ideals of leadership, scholarship and campus involvement, which the award represents,” said Vern Klobassa, director of student engagement. “It is always an honor to be among the first to read about the nominees and the contributions they have made to the St. Thomas community.”

The Tommie Award, formerly known as the “Mr. Tommy Award,” started in 1931. Students were nominated by fellow students, faculty and staff.

Online preliminary voting will be open to all St. Thomas students, faculty and staff from Dec. 5 to Dec. 7.

Three award finalists will be announced on Dec. 12, 2011, and the recipient of the 2012 Tommie Award will be announced on Feb. 20, 2012.

Profiles of the nominees

Editor’s note: Each nominee was asked the same questions to ensure fairness. Click on the name to view a full profile of the candidate.

John Baumgardner

Logan Crotty

Carolyn Dienhart

David Hackworthy

Erika Jarnes

Ryan O’Shaughnessy

Katrina Pauly

Tyler Petersen

Katelyn Ryan

Greg Scharine

Jared Scharpen

Matthew Sullivan

Solome Tibebu

Jacob Wakem

Christina Weiberg

Kiana Williams